How I got into Tech #WomenWhoTech

How I got into Tech #WomenWhoTech

First of all, I'd love to appreciate Hashnode for this initiative and for giving us the opportunity to talk about and share our stories through the platform. 💙

Here's a Quick Introduction

I’m an undergraduate student (2020-2024) pursuing Computer Science as my major. I’ve been a tech enthusiast since my high school days. I used to be fascinated by all different types of emerging tech through the times. Now, pursuing my studies in the same field gives immense happiness to me. ✨ Gif description

To be honest, most of my love for tech comes from my dad.
Despite not belonging to this field, he was a huge techie. He was the first one in our family who bought a computer and then taught himself various skills & tools such as MS Excel, Powerpoint, How to use the internet and much more! He believed that tech can help us make human lives easier hence, to share his knowledge he used to teach almost 10-20 college students MS Excel every month, early in his career.

He'd always purchase & try out new tech in the market. I remember the day he bought his first touchscreen phone and we spent the entire day talking about how it works and its features. No, we were not the most knowledgeable people at that time but the curiosity for knowing more, learning more about this field & what it has to offer, was very fascinating to me as a kid. (ps- I still have those AR/VR glasses which he bought around 2015 just to "try them out" hahaha)

The passion for tech which my dad instilled in me is what drives me the most. The day he taught me how to Google search on the web, it felt like that one simple click on the search button, bursting with web pages containing all the information in the world, opened soo many gates for me to explore.
The curious little kid wanted to figure out how things work in the field. It was all soo magical and surreal to me. 🤩 Gif description

Now, when I learn even the smallest little concepts, such as in web development or any other domain in tech, my eyes actually shine exactly the way they used to when I was a kid. 🌟

So, here's how and why I got into this field. Yes, I was that kid who always knew she wanted to do something in the tech field. Being a woman in tech is one of the best things that happened to me!

Sure there will be days when the majority of the things won't make any sense, when we'll be too exhausted to write a single line of code, when we won't be able to implement that one thing we were learning for weeks. But, from what I've experienced is, this is all part of the process.

  • Have faith in the process
  • Consistency is key
  • Never compare your learnings with someone else's
  • Seek help when needed
  • Take breaks

Most important of them all, NEVER STOP BELIEVING IN YOURSELF! 🙌

To anyone reading this article, I hope you liked reading about what made me enter this field, it was very personal to me. Since everyone's stories are unique in their own way I'd like to encourage people to share their own stories as well!

Connect with me on LinkedIn and Twitter! 🥳